Autism and Polychlorinated Biphenyls Exposure

Currently undergoing other projects. Once there is significant traction, we will create new forums for those analyses and results.

Autism and Polychlorinated Biphenyls Exposure

Postby cpere117 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:01 pm

Hello all,

First off let me introduce myself my name is Christian Perez and I'm a doctorate student in the Environmental Health Sciences department. My major adviser is Dr. Quentin Felty and we currently are focusing on the effect of molecular determinants of brain vascular disorders due to exposure too polychlorinated biphenyls. This forum is ideal for my research because it will be grounded in computational biology, Bayesian Network gene analysis for generation of novel genetic pathways involved with ID3. Anyways I look forward to working with all of you moving forward over time and also in contributing my help to your own research topics. I listed the activities and data collection processes in an action plan below and I will report on each Friday to update my weekly progress.

1) Over the past few weeks, I have downloaded datasets from GEO Omnibus where either a population study or blood cell line study where PCB exposure was studied in the development of brain disorders or vascular-related disorders. The datasets I have compiled so far focus primarily on raw gene expression microarray data but I do intend to expand to RNA datasets as I develop further as a doctorate student.
2) The datasets are four in total at the moment and are primarily concerned with the same cohort of children in Slovakia exposed to PCB's in two distinct regions: Michalovce (High PCB exposure) and Svidnik (Low PCB exposure). The exposure levels were determined by the average output of PCB's from nearby chemical treatment plants in the area. Their ascension numbers are as follows: GSE22868, GSE22667, GSE32420, GSE288051.